ARABIAN CURRENTSAUDI ARABIAREPORTING

Saudi Arabia Is Bringing Tap to Pay to iPhone, but It Is Not Live Yet

SAMA says merchants will soon be able to accept mada cards, contactless cards and digital wallets directly on compatible iPhones. The announcement expands software-based payment acceptance, but no public launch date has been disclosed.

Published 25 Sept 2026 · 08:58 GST2 min readMedium significance
FEATURE IMAGESaudi Arabia
Saudi Arabia Is Bringing Tap to Pay to iPhone, but It Is Not Live Yet
KEY TAKEAWAY

SAMA has announced Tap to Pay on iPhone for Saudi Arabia, but the service is not yet described as generally available and no public launch date has been disclosed.

Saudi Arabia is preparing to turn compatible iPhones into payment-acceptance devices for merchants.

The Saudi Central Bank says Tap to Pay on iPhone will launch in the Kingdom, allowing merchants to accept contactless payments directly through compatible devices using NFC technology.

The supported payment methods are expected to include mada cards, other contactless-enabled cards and digital wallets.

There is one important word in SAMA's announcement: soon.

The service has been announced, not fully launched

SAMA has not disclosed a public launch date.

Its announcement says Tap to Pay on iPhone will be available soon.

That means merchants should not interpret the announcement itself as evidence that every compatible iPhone can already begin accepting payments in Saudi Arabia.

Regulatory approval, technical readiness and general merchant availability are different stages.

The payment terminal keeps disappearing

Tap to Pay changes the physical checkout experience because payment acceptance can move onto hardware a merchant may already carry.

Instead of requiring a conventional standalone terminal at every transaction point, compatible software can use the iPhone's NFC hardware to receive a contactless payment.

That changes where a checkout can exist.

A payment point no longer has to be a fixed counter.

Saudi Arabia already has a SoftPOS foundation

SAMA connects the new capability with the Kingdom's existing Software Point of Sale infrastructure.

Saudi Arabia introduced SoftPOS in 2021, allowing compatible smart devices to function as payment-acceptance tools.

Tap to Pay on iPhone therefore sits inside a broader transition from dedicated payment hardware toward software-defined acceptance.

The mada integration is particularly important

SAMA says the service will support mada cards alongside other contactless cards and digital wallets.

That places the product within Saudi Arabia's domestic payment environment rather than positioning it only as an international card feature.

The operational question is which local acquiring banks, payment companies and merchant applications will support it first.

Why Arabian Current treats this as Experiential Technology

This is not primarily an iPhone story.

It changes a physical commercial interaction.

The customer still taps a card or phone, but the merchant side of that interaction can move from purpose-built payment hardware to a software-controlled consumer device.

That is a small interface change with potentially broad effects across cafés, mobile sellers, service businesses, events and other environments where fixed terminals create friction.

What Arabian Current is watching

Watch for the launch date, participating Saudi payment providers, merchant applications and evidence of adoption outside conventional retail counters.

The strongest signal will be when the announcement becomes something merchants can actually activate and use.

WHAT CHANGED
BEFORE

Saudi merchants already had conventional POS infrastructure and SoftPOS options for software-based payment acceptance.

NOW

SAMA has confirmed that Apple's iPhone-based contactless acceptance model is coming to Saudi Arabia with support for mada and other contactless payments.

NEXT

The next evidence will be the launch date, participating payment providers, merchant applications and actual adoption.

02 / EVIDENCE & TRANSPARENCY

Show the record behind the claim.

Claims stay source-linked, with limits recorded.

EVIDENCE BOUNDARY

SAMA directly states that Tap to Pay on iPhone will launch in Saudi Arabia and will support mada cards, other contactless cards and digital wallets. The regulator describes availability as coming soon rather than already live.

01
Primary claimsSource-linked

Material reporting is designed to retain the evidence behind the published claim.

02
Entity contextConnected

Companies, regulators and projects can link back to persistent records.

03
Editorial statusHuman review

Automation can assist discovery and extraction; publication authority remains editorial.

03 / SOURCE LEDGER

Open the evidence record.

2 linked sourcesSupport + limitations recorded.

01
Core evidence

Saudi Central Bank Announces Tap to Pay on iPhone

Saudi Central Bank

RegulatorChecked 24 Sept 2026
SUPPORTS

Confirms the planned Saudi launch, support for mada and other contactless payment methods and the connection with the Kingdom's SoftPOS infrastructure.

DOES NOT PROVE

SAMA does not disclose an exact public launch date or the first participating payment providers.

OPEN ORIGINAL SOURCE ↗
02
Context

Apple launches Tap to Pay on iPhone in the UAE

Apple

Company disclosureChecked 24 Sept 2026
SUPPORTS

Provides context on how Tap to Pay on iPhone works in a neighbouring Gulf market and how compatible iPhones can be used for merchant contactless acceptance.

DOES NOT PROVE

The UAE implementation does not establish Saudi launch timing, participating providers or local commercial terms.

OPEN ORIGINAL SOURCE ↗
How Arabian Current handles sources →
04 / WHAT TO WATCH NEXT

The story keeps moving.

Track launch timing, participating acquirers and payment providers, merchant apps, supported devices and real-world adoption across Saudi retail and service businesses.

Arabian Current
ARABIAN CURRENT NEWSROOM

Reporting with a visible evidence trail.

Arabian Current reporting is built around human editorial authority, source-linked claims and visible evidence trails.

Author profile →Editorial standards →
CONTINUE THE CURRENT

Related reporting

Open reporting →